Rio: Stamp out diving across Europe

first_imgRio Ferdinand insists any move to stamp out diving must extend beyond the Premier League. Manchester United have found themselves at the centre of a storm this week after Ashley Young was booked for initiating contact with Crystal Palace midfielder Kagisho Dikgacoi at Old Trafford on Saturday, before going to ground looking for a spot-kick. The incident, followed by Reading striker Pavel Pogrebnyak’s dismissal against Brighton on Sunday have sparked yet another debate over the issue of diving. “Retrospective viewing and punishments may be the way to go.” United boss David Moyes certainly feels so, even if he thinks referee Jon Moss handled the Young incident correctly. “I can never be sure it won’t happen again,” said Moyes. “I have had a word with him (Young) privately. “I’ve said for many years we should have retrospective video for diving. That would help referees no end. “Moving from Everton to Manchester United doesn’t change my views on that because it is really difficult at times.” Palace chairman Steve Parish has gone even further, claiming diving should be treated in the same harsh manner as preventing goalscoring opportunities. “If preventing a goal-scoring opportunity is a straight red then trying to create one by cheating should be a straight red also,” Parish told BBC Radio 5 Live. “The only player in the incidents that was honest was Kagisho Dikgacoi and he’s sent off and banned for the next match. “Ashley Young’s dive and the appeal before put pressure on the referee to give a subsequent penalty that was certainly outside the area and probably wasn’t even a foul. “Ashley Young has a yellow card and three points and we have no points and one less player to pick from for the next game. “(It) might have cost us a point that might keep us up. (We) need to get some momentum behind a straight red for a dive.” And Ferdinand accepts there is no easy solution. “It’s weird,” he said. “It’s got to happen across Europe and the world, not just in our league. “You go into the Champions League and you have been told in the Premier League you are not meant to dive, then you get players from other countries who simulate. “As a defender, you don’t want people trying to con the referee, but if there is contact, the player has the right to go down. “It has become a part of our game that, as defenders, we are used to. “You have got to defend with your head and think how you are going to combat the forwards. “They are cute and know how to deal with this type of stuff. “It is such a difficult thing for referees to say someone dived or there was contact. Press Associationlast_img read more

Windies Women win last-ball thriller to take series lead

first_imgNORTH SOUND, Antigua, (CMC) – West Indies Women survived a massive umpiring blunder in a tense final over to pull off a dramatic one-run victory off the last ball, in the opening One-Day International against India Women under lights here late Friday.With India requiring nine runs from the final over with one wicket intact at the Vivian Richards Cricket Ground, veteran off-spinner Anisa Mohammed snatched wickets off the first and last delivery to finish with her sixth five-wicket haul in ODIs, as the hosts took a vital 1-0 lead in the three-match series.Mohammed removed Ekta Bisht without scoring, caught at short backward point off the first delivery but tail-ender Jhulan Goswami eased the tension when she lofted the next ball to the cover boundary.Goswami was kept scoreless off the third delivery before controversy unfolded off the next ball when she swung to deep mid-wicket and hurried back for the second. Kyshona Knight’s excellent throw to Mohammed found Poonam Yadav short of her ground at the non-striker’s end, only for umpire Patrick Gustard to astonishingly rule not out.Captain Stafanie Taylor remonstrated openly with Gustard over the decision and tensions were further heightened when television replays showed Poonam had been indeed run out by some distance.With three runs needed of the last two balls, Windies Women regained their composure to restrict Goswami to one run off the penultimate delivery and with two runs needed from the last ball, Poonam holed out to Stacy-Ann King at point.Mohammed finished with five for 46 while fellow off-spinner Stafanie Taylor (2-30) and teenaged pace bowler Shabika Gajnabi (2-25) grabbed two wickets apiece.They combined to lead a West Indies comeback after opener Priya Punia top-scored with 75 to put India Women in command of the run chase at 170 for two in the 40th over.Punia faced 107 deliveries and struck six fours, posting 78 for the first wicket with Jemimah Rodrigues (41), 46 for the second wicket with Punam Raut (22) and a further 46 for the third wicket with captain Mitjhali Raj (20).Once Mohammed removed Punia in the 40th to a catch at mid-off by replacement player Gajnabi and then drew Raj from her crease and had her stumped in her next over, India Women lost their last eight wickets for 54 runs.Taylor had earlier produced a Player-of-the-Match 94 as the hosts rattled up 225 for seven off their 50 overs, after winning the toss.The right-hander blossomed after a slow start to stroke eight fours and two sixes in a 91-ball innings, before holing out at long off to a magnificent leaping one-handed catch by Harmanpreet Kaur on the ropes, to fall agonsingly short of three figures.Crucially, she put 78 for the fourth wicket with Chedean Nation who struck 43 from 51 balls with five fours, to pull the innings around after three wickets tumbled for 26 runs to leave the Windies on 77 for three in the 26th over.Natasha McLean had given West Indies a strong start, belting six fours and a six in an 82-ball 51, adding 51 for the first wicket with King (12).last_img read more