Norris is quickest to Springfield checkers

first_imgAn early restart found Thompson and points runner-up Jody Tillman bringing the pack to the green. Derek Watson was quick to join the top duo as Norris was searching to see where his car was working best. Norris decided on lap 15 it was time to go as the Arkansas hard charger made quick work of both Watson and Tillman and closed the ground on the leader. Thompson stayed on the extreme top side as Norris worked the middle groove and as the white flag flew, Norris was only a car length behind. By Ronnie Williams After getting dialed in, first-time visitor Clay Norris drove to the Saturday night IMCA Modified vic­tory at Springfield Raceway. (Photo by Going into turn three, Thompson made a small bobble and Norris made the most of it as he pulled even with Thompson in turn four as both drivers gave each other plenty of room. SPRINGFIELD, Mo. (June 8) – Searcy, Ark., resident and current Batesville Motor Speedway IMCA Modified point leader Clay Norris made his first-ever visit to The “Quick-Quarter” of the Spring­field Raceway Saturday night. Thompson found the top groove to his liking as he started to pull away from Tillman and Watson while Norris was waiting in the shadows as the feature went caution-free the rest of the distance. The trip paid off as Norris pulled off a last-lap, last-turn pass from race and Bad Boy Mower IMCA Mod­ified point leader James Thompson to become the fifth different feature winner out of seven features on Indigo Casino Raining Money Night at the races before the packed grandstands.  Norris found something extra to lunge ahead of Thompson and cross the line by less than two car lengths to capture the win with Thompson, Tillman, Watson and Mark Norris in the mix for a top five in his first ever visit to the high-banked oval as the track produced outstanding side by side action all night long.last_img read more

Saha, Pant and Shaw to feature in India Caribbean tour

first_img(CMC) – OUT-of-favour Test batsman Wriddhiman Saha and rising star Rishabh Pant will both feature on India A’s tour of the Caribbean which bowls off in July.The 34-year-old Saha, who played the last of his 32 Tests nearly a year-and-a-half ago, was named in the 15-man squad for all three four-day ‘Tests’.He has been kept out of the senior side through a series of injuries.Batsman Shreyas Iyer, who has played six One-Day Internationals, will lead the ‘Test’ squad, which also includes exciting 19-year-old opener Prithvi Shaw, whose only two Tests came against West Indies last year and yielded a maiden hundred.However, Shaw will feature only in the third and final ‘Test’Pant, meanwhile, who was surprisingly omitted from India’s World Cup squad, will be a part of the tourists’ 15-man squad for the five one-day matches.The 21-year-old has played nine Tests and averages nearly 50 with two hundreds.The one-day squad will be led by batsman Manish Pandey and includes Shaw and Iyer.India A’s series will precede the senior team’s tour of the Caribbean which is expected to begin in August and comprises two Tests, three One-Day Internationals and three T20 Internationals.The Indian cricket board (BCCI) said yesterday Antigua will host the five one-dayers from July 11 to 21, with Coolidge Cricket Ground and the Vivian Richards Cricket Ground serving as venues.The Vivian Richards Cricket Ground will also host the first ‘Test’ from July 24 to 27 before the series moves to Trinidad where the second ‘Test’ will be played at Queen’s Park Oval from July 31 to August 3 and the third ‘Test’ at the Brian Lara Stadium starting August 6.SQUADS:ONE-DAY: Manish Pandey (captain), Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Rishab Pant (wkp.), Rahul Chahar, Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Krunal Pandya, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Khaleel Ahmed, Avesh Khan1st ‘Test’ Shreyas Iyer (captain), PK Panchal, AR Easwaran, Shubman Gill, Hanuma Vihari, Shivam Dube, Wriddhiman Saha (wkp.), KS Bharat (wkp.), K. Gowtham, S. Nadeem, Mayank Markande, Navdeep Saini, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Avesh Khan2nd & 3rd Tests: Shreyas Iyer (captain), Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha (wkp.), KS Bharat (wkp.), Shivam Dube, Mayank Markande, K. Gowtham, S. Nadeem, Navdeep Saini, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Avesh Khanlast_img read more