Stoic, respectful reception or rowdiest event of the year?

first_img Gov. DeSantis says new moment-of-silence law in public schools protects religious freedom 19 local educators honored at Teacher Appreciation Reception The Chamber of Commerce held its annual Teacher Appreciation Reception. The event was held at a church.That lead sentence doesn’t exactly conjure up visions of a carnival-like, bring in the fire hoses to calm them down, too noisy to hear yourself think, dinosaur attending atmosphere, but show up at The Apopka Area Chamber of Commerce Teacher Appreciation Reception at Trinity Christian School Gymnasium, and that’s exactly what you’ll get.“I promised two first-time attendees that this would be the rowdiest event of the year,” said Chamber President Laura Heiselman, as the audience made up mostly of teachers from schools in the Apopka area went wild as if on cue. “And I can see you won’t disappoint me.”19 educators from local public, private, and charter schools were honored with the title “Teacher of the Year.” Each recipient received a plaque, a flower, and bone-jarring applause from the crowd that shook the Trinity Gymnasium and undoubtedly broke all decibel levels for noise at an awards ceremony-type event.They cheered, they screamed, they held up giant posters of their winners, they displayed banners of their heroes, and they celebrated together with emotion and passion that teachers rarely get to display.“Teachers are my heroes,” said Apopka Mayor Joe Kilsheimer. “I see what they have to go through. I see the dedication to their students. My heart just goes out to them. At least while I am Mayor, the City of Apopka will make a commitment to embrace education as a pillar of success throughout the community. I’m a passionate supporter of education and my congratulations to you all.”Among the local sponsors of the event were: Anuvia Planet Inspired Products, Sam’s Club, Florida Hospital – Apopka, Shren Yeager State Farm, Victory Church World Outreach, Lake Apopka Natural Gas District, Sage Dental, Central Florida Educator’s Credit Union, McCoy Federal Credit Union Community Health Centers and The City of Apopka. Teacher Of The Year Honorees: Gabriella Solorzano (AMI Kids Orlando), Christina Chamberlin (Apopka Christian Academy), Susanne Knapp (Apopka Elementary School), Erika Houvouras (Apopka High School), Jessica Schweitzer (Apopka Memorial Middle School), Myrna Ossa (Clay Springs Elementary School), Mary Grupp (Dream Lake Elementary School), Ayeshah Little (Lakeville Elementary School), Maria Collado (Lovell Elementary School), Byron Medina (Phillis Wheatley Elementary School), Stephen Fulmer (Piedmont Lakes Elementary School), Shayana Lemon-Brookins (Prarie Lake Elementary School), April Cooke (Rock Springs Elementary School), Jose Vazquez (Sheeler Charter High School), Barbara Shaver (Trinity Christian School), Cheryl Butler (Wekiva High School), April Ware (Wolf Lake Elementary School), Sheila Jackson (Wolf Lake Middle School), Maria Anglada (Zellwood Elementary School).Congratulations to you all and thank you for your service. TAGSApopka Area Chamber of CommerceTeacher of the year Previous articleWekiva advances past Apopka 56-45Next articleIt’s National Pizza and Bagel Day – Get Local Deals Denise Connell RELATED ARTICLESMORE FROM AUTHOR Save my name, email, and website in this browser for the next time I comment. You have entered an incorrect email address! Please enter your email address here Please enter your comment! LEAVE A REPLY Cancel reply Florida gas prices jump 12 cents; most expensive since 2014 Please enter your name here UF/IFAS in Apopka will temporarily house District staff; saves almost $400,000 Share on Facebook Tweet on Twitterlast_img read more