Former Chief Magistrate among 4 appointed Senior Counsel

first_imgIn keeping with a promise to make annual appointments of senior counsels, President David Granger has conferred four long-serving legal practitioners with ‘Silk’. These appointments will take effect from January 1, 2018.Fitz Peters, SCAmong the newly appointed senior counsels is former Chief Magistrate Kalam Azad Juman Yassin, who was admitted to the local Bar in 1971. Yassin is currently the President of the Guyana Olympic Association (GOA) – a post he has held since 1996.Attorney Fitz Le Roy Peters was also conferred with Senior Counsel status and in his 36 years as a legal practitioner, has held the post of Deputy Solicitor General at the Legal Affairs Ministry for 10 years before starting private practice in 1998 to date.Josephine Whitehead, SCThe other newly conferred Senior Counsel is Attorney Andrew Mark Fitzgerald Pollard, who has over 30 years of experience in civil and commercial practice. Given his specialty in commercial and company law, he holds the post of Director in several local corporations including Guyana Stockfeeds Inc, Sterling Products Limited, and Croesus Minerals Inc.The final Senior Counsel appointment is Attorney Josephine Whitehead. She is a former law lecturer at the University of Guyana (UG) and also a founding member of the Guyana Legal Aid Clinic, as well as its secretary.K A Juman Yassin, SCAccording to a missive from the Ministry of the Presidency on Saturday, these persons were conferred with ‘Silk’ by the Head of State after he considered their high quality of service in the legal profession and having confidence in their knowledge of the law.This recent appointment is the second group of legal practitioners to be elevated to the status of Senior Counsel by President Granger. Back in January 2017, he appointed nine senior counsels.Those conferring with ‘Silk’ earlier this year were Neil Aubrey Boston, Charles John Ethelwood Fung-A-Fat, Justice Alison Roxane McLean George-Wiltshire, Clifton Mortimer Llewelyn John, Rafiq Turhan Khan, Vidyanand Persaud, Rosalie Robertson, Justice Claudette Singh, and Attorney General and Legal Affairs Minister Basil Williams.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *